+256 781 - 480 - 953


The Brief Background or History of Arua Diocese

About us

Detailed Information on the History/Background of Arua Diocese


The Diocese of Arua is located in the northwestern part (also known as the West Nile region) of Uganda. The Diocese is bordered to the north by Catholic Diocese of Torit and the Diocese of Yei (both in South Sudan); to the south by Nebbi Catholic Diocese (Uganda); to the east by Gulu Archdiocese (Uganda);and to the west by Diocese of Mahagi-Nioka (in Democratic Republic of Congo). The Diocese covers nine civil districts and one City: Adjumani, Arua,Arua-city, Koboko, Maracha, Moyo, Obongi, Terego, Yumbe and parts of Zombo. The diocesan headquarter and the Cathedral is located at Ediofe Mission, Arua City.


The territory of Arua Diocese was originally part of Gulu Diocese. Erected as a Diocese on June 23, 1958, its Patrons are the Sacred Heart of Jesus and Our Lady, Mediatrix of all Graces. The original territory included what is now Nebbi Diocese; The Catholic Diocese of Nebbi was erected on March 15, 1996.

Bishops From The Time of Establishment

The first Bishop of Arua Diocese was Rt. Rev. Angelo Tarantino of the Comboni Missionaries. He served from 1958 to 1984. The second Bishop of Arua Diocese was Rt. Rev. Frederick Drandua, first served as Apostolic Administrator and then was consecrated Bishop of Arua on August 15, 1986.He served until his retirement on August 19, 2009. The third and current Bishop of Arua Diocese, Rt. Rev. Sabino Ocan Odoki, was consecrated a Bishop on October 21, 2006 when he was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Gulu Archdiocese. On August 19, 2009, he was appointed Apostolic Administrator of Arua Diocese. He was then appointed Bishop of Arua Diocese on October 20, 2010.

The Detailed Stastistical Facts

The area of Arua Diocese is 4,046 square miles or 10,561 square kilometers with an approximate population of 3,396,989 people. Approximately 2,361,300 Catholics reside in the Diocese. The Diocese has 60 parishes organized into 13 deaneries (Adjumani Deanery, Aripea Deanery, Arivu Deanery, Ediofe Deanery, Lodonga Deanery, Logiri Deanery, Maracha Deanery, Metu Deanery, Moyo Deanery, Obongi Deanery, Ombaci Deanery, Otumbari Deanery, Pakele Deanery ) and 4 Vicariates (Ediofe Vicariate, Lodonga Vicariate, Moyo Vicariate, Refugees and Migrants Vicariate) and a total of 727 Chapels in the Diocese .

STASTICALLY: there are 183 priests (including Bishop), Diocesan Priests: 150, Priests belonging to Religious Institutes of Diocesan Right: 15, Priests Belonging to Religious Institutes of Pontifical Right: 23, Priests from other Diocese working in Arua Diocese: 5, Religious Women (sisters): 172, Religious Men (brothers): 38 , Catechists: 1,116 work in Diocese of Arua

Daily Masses

  • Monday to Saturday

    Monday - Saturday 7:00 Am - 7:40 Am Ediofe Cathedral Church
  • Confession Schedules


    Saturdays 5:00 Pm - 6:00 Pm
    Ediofe Cathedral Church
  • Sunday Masses


    First Mass (Lugbara Ti) 7:00 Am - 9:00 Am Second Mass (English Language) 9:00 Am - 11:00 Am Third Mass (Lugbara Ti) 11:00 Am - 1:00 Pm Ediofe Cathedral Church